Draft Profile – Benoit-Olivier Groulx

Benoit-Olivier Groulx

Center

Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL)/Canada Men’s Junior (U-18)

6’1 (185 cm) and 190 lbs (85 kg)

 

Of all the North American prospects I’ve written about, I feel like Groulx is the one that gives me the most trouble reading. I say this because while I feel like I have enough to write about him, I think there’s more to the story. I would say that he’s an average to a plus skater and he’s got a decent or better shot, but nothing that stands out in the fundamentals. His net front, power forward style game is definitely his best asset. The only drawback is that despite his consistent acquisition of rebounds and his hard work, they seem like the kind of loose pucks that just don’t happen at the NHL level.

Right now he’s on a stacked Halifax roster and he’s playing against some terrible defenses in the QMJHL. Will he be able to produce without having so much talent around him? Can he offer more than a contributory role? A lot of these questions are going to be answered in the next 2 seasons, one in the QMJHL and his first year in the AHL. He’s going to take some time to develop, but I see him as a top 9 or bottom 6 type of guy. He’s definitely a first round talent, but I have my concerns about what path he’ll take in the NHL.

Likely draft position: 27-33

Best fits in the NHL: Chicago, Philadelphia, Anaheim, Columbus

Player comparison(s): Jeff Carter, Brayden Schenn

Leave a comment